The one letter you wanted all week

Posted on Updated on

Hello peoples of the outside world,

First off, this email was composed in great part on an iPad (something which I will try not to do again because how slow it can be (dang it autocorrect!!). We received the iPad on Wednesday and have been using them to further the missionary work for each of our areas. As for my area, we have not used them to their full potential yet but we should be able to get to that point within the coming days. I have never realized how much of a blessing that technology is until I was deprived of mine. Now I’m using technology for proselyting purposes and it has made me become a better representative of Jesus Christ. I’m very grateful to be living in this time and age, but I’m also worried about what is to come. So this week I finished Helaman. I believe that we are living the Book of Mormon quite closely, in fact we are in the middle of Helaman and are fast approaching the end of the book. What does that mean for me? I need to kick the work in my area into high gear…

Anyway here is what happened over the week

Monday: After emailing home we as a district played a pickup game of basketball (so much fun)

Tuesday: Went on exchange with Elder Perry and worked in Pittsfield for a majority of the day.

Wednesday: Mission-wide conference on iPads and there use in relation to the work, we had someone from the missionary department of the church come. (We would have had a member of the seventy come, but he had to stay in Utah for health reasons.) We were taught what mission presidents were taught a week before. (If you look up #becausehelives, there may be a picture of me floating around with a creative use of a google maps style pin on my suit, just saying you should check it out.IMG_0071

Thursday: Went to Tilton where we had a dinner appointment and we worked up there (with little success) all day.

Friday: Not too much work happened here either all of the appointments that we had set all fell through. A disappointment but what can we do…

IMG_0063

Saturday: Went to Franklin (which is near Tilton) and tried to do work you there, but to no avail. On the bright side my feet don’t hurt as much…

Sunday: My companion is sick and we spent most of the day in the apartment, while we study further on the iPads increasing our knowledge on what they can (and can’t) do. We also had a scare from one of the sisters in our district.

Elder Betts is recovering in bed and I’m studying, when I receive a call from the Canterbury sisters saying that Sister McVey has had an accident and we need to come get her and take her to the hospital. She got a bad sprain, but she will be fine. I have no idea what my companion is going to say so I’m in the middle of a sentence when Elder Betts walks in to the room and says that we will be there. After getting fully dressed, we get in the car and start driving towards them. We get them to the hospital and it’s nearing 8:30pm, but we have to retrieve their car (mind you…because I’m still being trained, I can’t drive yet), so we get permission to take the Concord sisters and get their car and bring it to the hospital. It’s now 9:30pm when we make it back in time to give a priesthood blessing, during which our phone dies. We get home at 11:45pm and Elder Betts is dead tired and I’m fast approaching that point so we forgo the dinner we had planned and eat something simple.

Which brings us to Monday where we have a long shopping list to do and lots of tasks to get done. So we had a somewhat typical missionary week out here in New Hampshire.

IMG_0045One thought: it is an absolute joy to be working in the mission where the restoration happened, at the same time it can be almost nightmarish when trying to get the work done and Satan is doing everything he can to stop us, but “he may bruise your heel, but you have the power to crush his head” (I have no idea where that scripture is, I’m not totally sure I got it right either).

See you later,

Elder Richard Seely

Ps I can read my email all week, so send me email when you can, I can only respond on p-days.

There was some concern as to when transfers are. I will be informed of where I will be going on the 30th and transfer meeting will be the next Tuesday.

Hope you enjoyed these pictures I took in my area. I just upped the colors and changed the brightness and contrast.

 

Leave a Reply

