Over the hump and down the hill

Posted on Updated on

Below is my LTP this week. There are some details that require some explanation though.

  1. The lessons in district meeting for the last 2 weeks have been about making the Sabbath a delight for us and investigators. The church is making this an absolute priority, and I have heard that something is on the horizon and this will help us overcome it. Whatever happens, I have learned a lot about the Sabbath day, and it will bless my life.
  2. About 7 months ago, I hit what the missionaries out here call the “6 month wall” where some event in your mission happens and it affects you profoundly enough to question your call to serve. Most missionaries in this mission go home soon after hitting this “wall” for whatever reason. I came to the wall and after a Zone Conference, asked to talk with President Stoker. This comment was made after talking about what can be down to overcome this wall. The entirety of the conversation I do not remember, but this comment alone is burned into my memory.

President,
I apologize for not getting my LTP to you last week. The missionary portal would not load last week and so I was not able to write. But I think I did pretty well this last week and agreed that we did a pretty good job at teaching cooperatively. We hope to match that same success in the future.

The quality of my studies has improved quite a lot since I became a District Leader. Now I have a focus that I can point my studies on so that it will benefit others. I probably should have been doing that for investigators but I did not realize that until recently.

(1)The District meetings on Sabbath day have also opened a lot of things that I am doing “wrong” and “right”. Teaching it has solidified the concept in my head. It does help when in the Ward, you receive the same “Sabbath is a delight” training on three different occasions. I wonder how you keep the Sabbath holy and make it a delight. You have a lot of responsibility, regardless of what day it is, so how do you keep this work a labor of love instead of having turn into a “I have to do this” attitude?
(2)You remember in a talk we had after Zone Conference, 7 months ago, you said something like “Elder Seely, I see you being a great leader in the mission, and what’s more, you will be leader before I leave.” That comment has, for lack of a better word, haunted me ever since then. When transfer calls would come around, my first thought would be “Is this the one?” Being a leader myself has made clear how much a leader does in the mission. I know now that I gave some of my companions a hard time about being a companion to a leader. I wish I could go back and help them where I could and not be so hard to work with. “Time is one of the precious things that your Heavenly Father has given you.” It is my time to be a leader, so that when the time comes again (and I feel it will come again) I can be a better follower.

—–

Here is my companion, Elder Dortsch.

A picture of the missionaries serving in the Ward in their dirty clothes:

April 2016

Have a wonderful week!
Elder R Seely
Sent from my Mission-Issued iPad

Leave a Reply

